skip navigation


By San Antonio FC Communications, 04/18/17, 12:30PM CDT


SAFC Forward Cesar Elizondo and Goalkeeper Matt Cardone Named to Team of the Week Bench

San Antonio FC midfielder Billy Forbes has been named to the USL Team of the Week, the league announced today. Forbes scored one goal and assisted another in the record 4-0 win over Reno 1868 FC last Saturday.

In addition, SAFC forward Cesar Elizondo and goalkeeper Matt Cardone were named to the USL Team of the Week Bench.

Forbes opened the scoring in the first half against Reno, embarking on an impressive run down the left wing before cutting inside and poking the ball past the diving goalkeeper. Forbes helped San Antonio FC double its lead when his precise pass played in Elizondo, who took a couple of touches before burying his ensuing shot into the back of the net.

Elizondo would go on to score a second goal in the game, recording just the second brace in club history and first since forward Jason Johnson put two past Seattle on April 3 of last season. Cardone kept his third clean sheet of the season, which is tied for the most in the USL. The San Antonio native is already more than halfway to his total shutouts from last season when he recorded five clean sheets in 14 league matches.

SAFC has now had a representative in the USL Team of the Week following three of the club’s four matches so far this season. This week’s honor marks Forbes’ second of the season while defender Sebastien Ibeagha earned Team of the Week honors following San Antonio’s 1-0 win over RGV FC on March 26.

The full USL Team of the Week:

GK – Sean Melvin, Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2

D – Nouhou Tolo, Seattle Sounders FC 2

D – Amer Didic, Swope Park Rangers

D – Matt Bahner, FC Cincinnati

M – George Davis IV, Louisville City FC

M – Billy Forbes, San Antonio FC

M – Vincent Bezecourt, New York Red Bulls II

M – Memo Rodriguez, Rio Grande Valley FC

F – Miguel Gonzalez, OKC Energy FC

F – Romario Williams, Charleston Battery

F – Djiby Fall, FC Cincinnati

Bench: Matt Cardone (SA), O’Brian Woodbine (CHS), Wes Charpie (STL), Masta Kacher (COS), Steevan Dos Santos (OTT), Cesar Elizondo (SA), Cardel Benbow (HAR)