skip navigation


By San Antonio FC Communications, 10/15/19, 12:15PM CDT


Midfielder Walter Restrepo Joins Guzman on Team of the Week

San Antonio FC forward Ever Guzman was named the USL Championship Player of the Week, the league announced today. Guzman scored the first hattrick in SAFC history, en route to a vital 4-3 road win over the Portland Timbers 2 last Friday.  

Overall in the victory, Guzman added four shots, four shots on target and two key passes in addition to his three goals. Not only was Guzman’s hattrick the first in SAFC history, but it was also the first in San Antonio professional soccer since Pablo Campos recorded one on July 28, 2012 for the San Antonio Scorpions of the North American Soccer League. Guzman has now also recorded at least two goals in a single game three times in his San Antonio career.  

Overall this season, the 31-year-old forward has recorded eight goals, one assist and 18 chances created in 24 matches (1,335 minutes). Guzman is the all-time SAFC leader in goals with 23 regular season strikes in his Alamo City career, and 25 in all competitions.  

In addition, SAFC midfielder Walter Restrepo was named to the league’s Team of the Week after recording two assists and six key passes in the win over Portland. Restrepo’s eight assists in 2019 lead SAFC and are tied for 10th in the league in despite the Colombian playing nearly 1,000 less minutes (1,391) than the average minutes of the rest of the top 10 (2,347).

The honor marks the sixth time a San Antonio FC player has earned the Player of the Week award and second time for Guzman in his USL Championship career. Goalkeeper Matthew Cardone (2016), forward Cesar Elizondo (2017) and midfielder Cristian Parano (2018) are the other three to earn the league honor. Guzman’s previous Player of the Week award came in October of 2017 after he scored three goals and recorded an assist over two matches as SAFC was clinching a home playoff match.

The full USL Team of the Week:

GK – Andrew Putna, Real Monarchs SLC

D – Forrest Lasso, Nashville SC

D – Onua Obasi, Ottawa Fury FC

D – George Campbell, ATL UTD 2

M – Magnus Rasmussen, Louisville City FC

M – Dan Bedoya, Hartford Athletic

M – Napo Matsoso, Louisville City FC

M – Lebo Moloto, Nashville SC

M – Walter Restrepo, San Antonio FC

F – Ever Guzman, San Antonio FC

F – Alioune Ndour, Loudoun United FC

Bench: Cody Cropper (HFD), Maikel Chang (SLC), Kevin Partida (RNO), Niall McCabe (LOU), Lewis Hilton (STL), Cameron Iwasa (SAC), Niki Jackson (CLT)

Latest News